Tags

,

Anniversary Waltz AND Anniversary Song

Print it out – learn it – IT WILL BE REQUIRES – I get requests for these two – CONSTANTLY and since most people don’t know the difference – I play them as a medley. When I do a medley – I play only the 1st and last pages of Pietro Diero’s arrangment.

If I am playing DANUBE WAVES – I play the entire solo. I am adding this to the PLAY LIST under ROMANIAN – one of the most famous Romanian tunes in the world.

Link – Anniversary WALTZ

The Anniversary Waltz is a popular song written by Dave Franklin, the lyrics by Al Dubin. The song was published in 1941. It has been covered by Vera Lynn, Connie Francis, and Bing Crosby. Ricky Ricardo performed the song to end the I Love Lucy episode “Hollywood Anniversary” (season 4 episode 4).[1]

The title “Anniversary Waltz” is often mistakenly and confusingly used to refer to the entirely unrelated Anniversary Song.

Waves of the Danube” (Romanian: Valurile Dunării; Serbian: Дунавски валови/Dunavski valovi; German: Donauwellen; French: Flots du Danube; Russian: Дунайские Волны) is a waltz composed by Ion Ivanovici in 1880, and is one of the most famous Romanian tunes in the world.

In the United States, it is frequently referred to as “The Anniversary Song“, a title given by Al Jolson when he and Saul Chaplin released an adaptation of the song in 1946.

