Tags

,

Put Your Head on My Shoulder – by Paul Anka 1959

Sung by The Lettermen 1968

In the 60’s and 70’s, my band played this song EVERY GIG! It was used for the Bride’s Dance, the Birthday Dance, and even the dance for the girl who caught the bouquet with the guy who caught the garter! We even had a “GIRL” ask us to play it and SHE PROPOSED to her boyfriend! HE Said YES!

I still love to play it – EVERYONE knows the words to the 1st phrase!

Link – Put Your Head On My Shoulder arr. by Shelia

I have written this arrangement in 12/8 (Compound Meter) I HAD TOO – in order to get that DOO-WHAP – beat sound! if you don’t know how to count this meter – PLEASE SEE Feb. 2015 Monthly Assignment.

For Level 1.5 – Read the top note only – and Play the basses – this style: Bass Chord Bass Chord (on the beat)

About the Song:

Put Your Head on My Shoulder” is a song written by Canadian singer-songwriter Paul Anka. Anka’s version was released as a single by ABC-Paramount in 1959. “Put Your Head on My Shoulder” became very successful, reaching number 2 on the Billboard Hot 100.

The song was re-popularized when released as a single by The Lettermen in 1968. This version peaked just outside the top forty of the Hot 100.

