Tags

, ,

California Dreamin’ Trio – 1965

This song is #89 in Rolling Stone‘s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

I saw how hard the solo ended up being – so I wanted to see if a trio would prove to easier – and YEAH – I got it from a level 4-5 – down to a level 3.5.

Again – this is one of the tunes I am writing especially for the San Deigo and Yuma Accordion Clubs. I will be conducting these when I am there for workshops in Feb. 2016.

Solo Version – California Dreamin’

About the Song

California Dreamin‘ ” is a song written by John Phillips and Michelle Phillips and first recorded by The Mamas & the Papas, released as a single in 1965. The song is #89 in Rolling Stone‘s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

“California Dreamin’ ” was certified as a Gold Record (single) by the RIAA in June, 1966, and was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2001.

Sharply dividing the popular music market that month, rivals “California Dreamin'” and “Ballad of the Green Berets” eventually tied for the #1 record of 1966, according to Cashbox. “California Dreamin'” also reached #23 on the UK charts.

 

